The weaning diaries – Day one!

The day is finally here! We are on the weaning wagon relatively early and I’ve been so excited to see Austin’s face when he has his first taste of food. We went for it today and he seemed to love it! Obviously like all babies he is used to pushing his tongue forward to drink from a bottle, so it’s our job now to keep going with solids and teach him to keep his tongue back and swallow.

Processed with VSCOcam

For his first taste we went with good old carrot. I had already frozen a lot of puree last week in preparation, labelled it all up in tiny pots and put them inside a large sandwich bag in the freezer which made things nice and easy today. While he is eating such tiny amount – a teaspoon or two at most – there is little point in me making my own puree, so for my preparation I used Ella’s kitchen pouches. I froze them in ice cube sized portions which are perfect. The reason I opened pouches and froze ahead of time was because otherwise I’d end up opening a fresh pouch each day and nearly the whole thing would go to waste. This way I can grab a freezer pot in the morning and let it defrost on the kitchen side or in the changing bag if we’re out of the house. The perfect portion would then be defrosted and ready to eat at room temperature by lunchtime. Clever, innit?!

I have recorded a little vlog of Austin’s first day on our You Tube channel, which you can view here:

I’m really excited to carry this on and see how he progresses and whether he becomes someone that loves his food like me or is a little fusspot. Although I can safely say that after I’ve had 10 years working as a nanny, I know every trick in the book and he won’t get away with any dinner time mischief on my watch! Poor kid….

Processed with VSCOcam

Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

H x

 

4 thoughts on “The weaning diaries – Day one!

  1. This is so refreshing! My youngest is about the same age as Austin and we’re starting on weaning at the moment, but so many people have told me I’m being ridiculous! Love the video, he’s so beautiful πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Ohh look at him all grown up! I can’t believe he’s on purΓ©e already he’ll be feeding himself in no time! Haha

    You’re so prepared, even now I realise I have nothing for jasy and have to make a quick dash to the shop!

    Such an exciting time and lovely video πŸ™‚

    Like

Comment:

