Finally, the perfect mascara!

Every now and again I think surely there must be a better mascara than my usual one. Is there something I’m missing out on? I see photos on Instagram of people who are not wearing false lashes and I think – I want eyes like that! I will sometimes ask which mascara they are using and then make sure I add it to my shopping list.

I’ve asked lots of friends which mascara they use and every time I try it out I find it just doesn’t suit my lashes. So disappointing. I think I have finally realised that everyone’s lashes are different and not everyone suits the same mascara. I really don’t think it’s as simple as buying the most popular one on the market, or the same one your friend uses. I think you have to find the mascara that works for you.

I have tried so many over the years – Rimmel, Chanel, Bobby Brown, Maybelline, Max Factor, Estee Lauder – honestly, probably all of the major brands. I really don’t get on with the brands with combs either, they don’t separate my lashes at all. Total fail.DSC00963The most recent trial was of the Benefit They’re Real mascara. I have seen so many friends wear it and looks amazing. I have seen signs for it being the number 1 best invention in the history of the Universe (or something similar/slightly less dramatic) so I dug deep and purchased it (along with their famous oxygen foundation which I also hated, but we’ll save that for another day). I was so excited only to get home and find the brush/wand isn’t the type I like and for it to give me the most horrendous spiders legs. Sad face. I tried to wipe excess off the brush and start again but no luck. I know thousands of girls swear by this one, but sadly it was not for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

benefit-theyre-real-beyond-mascara-1-2

 

Ever since school I have used the classic Maybelline pink and green mascara – come on, you know the one! It has served me very well but I have always been on the lookout for something more, just in case there’s something I’m missing. It turns out there is nothing better for my eyes than the good old classic I started using at the age of 13. What a waste of time and money searching for something I already had!

After extensive research here are my personal top 5 mascaras:

1. My current and most favourite mascara. Alway delivers long, separated, dark lashes. Doesn’t clump.

imgres-12. The Body Shop Big & Curvy mascara. Same again, although the brush can get slightly clogged.

imgres-23. Natural Collection black mascara – great low price mascara – does the job perfectly – again, brush can clog slightly

imgres-34. Chanel – Great mascara but I found this can dry out fairly quickly – doesn’t last as long. For the price it definitely should!

imgres-45. Bobby Brown – Very similar to Chanel. Does the job really well but runs out quickly and brush goes dry

imgres-5So there we have it. My number 1 mascara was the one I’ve always trusted – I should have just stuck to that and not gone searching for better things after all. I’m sorry Maybelline – I’ll love you forever!

Do you have a favourite mascara or have you always been on a search like me?!

Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

hannah

4 thoughts on “Finally, the perfect mascara!

  1. Ah I have the same problem! I hate them little combs!
    The best I have found for my lashes is Maxfactor flase lash effect which I LOVE and so does my mum. There is a Maybelline one too in silver packaging, it’s “illegal length”. A girl in boots told me to try it as its really popular and loads buy it! I tried that and I love that one too! I still go off and buy others though instead of just sticking to what I know haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally agree Hannah, I am not a fan of that mascara, the benefit girls always give me a weird look when I ask for the Bad Gal lashes mascara instead of They’re Real. They have a new one out which looks pretty nice, I’m going to have to try it out! X

    Liked by 1 person

Comment:

