Love the little things week 5

It’s that time of week again – time for one of my favourite linkys  ‘Love the little things’ with Morgana at But why mummy why. If you want to join in or find out more, click the link and get involved! Here are the little things I’ve been loving this week…

 

Read

This week we had our second NCT class. The teacher was explaining all about birth, pain relief and the different choices we have when in labour. One thing really interested me which I hadn’t heard about before and that was delayed cord clamping. All sounds a bit gory, doesn’t it? But all it means is that instead of clamping the cord immediately, you wait for it to stop pulsing naturally and then clamp it. The benefits are that the baby will have healthier blood and iron levels. I think there is a slightly higher risk of jaundice, but the health benefits outweigh the risk of that, so it’s something I’ll definitely be putting in my birth plan.

 

Watched

Last night I got roped into watching the opening ceremony of the World Cup in Brazil (downside of being married…) I have to admit it wasn’t as painful as I expected and I actually quite enjoyed it! Very colourful, enjoyable to watch and didn’t drag on forever. Result. I can’t say I’m going to enjoy watching any of the football though. Grant will watch the bigger games each week on the TV, but I’m afraid he’ll be confined to his laptop and earphones for the rest of them. I’m about to give birth to his first son, so he’s in no position to moan….

world cup, brazil, football

 

Wore

This week has been baking hot, so jeans and maternity jumpers are no longer my friend. I am usually a really cold person, but pregnancy has made me hotter than the sun – this child is cooking me from the inside out!!! Literally nothing will cool me down. The only thing that has come close is eating bowls of ice and drinking my magical mint choc chip Starbuck’s fraps. This week I combined the latter with a bargainous new summer dress from Sainsbury’s (£16) and I finally felt a fraction cooler. The dress is my new favouite thing in all the world – it’s very cool and light (actually a tad short for a pregnant person, but hey – I’m cooler in it than anything else so I don’t care!) I’ll be living in it every single day until this summer does a runner, or until the baby comes and my hormones return to that of a normal human.

starbucks, dress, sainsburys, hot, summer

 

Heard

If you’ve been following my ‘Little loves’ each week, you’ll know I’ve been sharing songs from my ‘Favourites’ playlist on Spotify and this week is no different. Here’s another one to wrap your ears around:

 

Made

Again, it’s another fail this week! I’m hoping the same old excuse of being heavily pregnant will let me off people hoping I might have baked some nice cakes or got my craft head on. I can barely make a proper dinner at the moment I’m so hot and uncomfortable, so will see if anything changes by next week. I promise to have something worth mentioning for this section soon!

And lastly…

It’s my baby shower tomorrow!!! My sister and mum having been working hard, cooking up lots of secrets and I’m very excited! I have lots of friends coming and can’t wait to see them all and enjoy the sunshine and BBQ. I treated myself to some special nails this week – blue tips with little baby bows. CUTE!

nails, gel, shellac, blue, baby shower

 

***If you can’t see an option to leave a comment below, click the heart at the top of the post. thank you!***

butwhymummywhy
Binky Linky
32 thoughts on “Love the little things week 5

  1. Oh you look lovely Hannah! Pregnancy really suits you! I know what you mean about cooking from the inside though- I am normally always freezing, but was so boiling the whole way through my pregnancies. And I believe you’ve been having really hot weather too? Yikes! Your nails are gorgeous chicky – perfect baby shower colours! Enjoy your day, and hope you can stay cool! 🙂 xx

    Like

    • Yes I’m usually a freezing person too even in summer, but right now I’m cooking! Still definitely not complaining though I’m so excited and only 5 weeks left!! Thanks, enjoy your weekend too!! Xx

      Like

  2. Love love your nails. They look amazing. And I was the same pregnant. I am usually the coldest person ever but when I was pregnant both times I was so hot and it was very uncomfortable when the weather went hot. I feel for you. Glad you could find something more comfortable in. LIVE IN IT! I did that with one maxi dress with Buba it was so hot Mr P asked if I was ever going to take it off. I replied no and I didn’t. hahaha Lovely #littleloves

    Like

    • Thank you I think they’re pretty and can’t wait for tomorrow! Seems so many people know how I feel which makes me feel better – love being pregnant but the heat is funny! Definitely not taking this dress off! Ever!!!! Sod finding a baby shower outfit – this dress is being worn there too!! X

      Like

  3. I was pregnant through the warmer months, I remember having my feet in buckets of ice cold water to try and cool me down! Sadly i’m not going to wish away the sun but I do feel sorry for you. I hope you enjoy your baby shower honey, I never made it to mine with Lil G coming at 33 weeks. I hope they shower you with beautiful gifts for you and baby! x

    Like

  4. Ahhh you look lovely. I was full term with both of mine with heat similar to this so I feel for you.
    I was going to have delayed cord clamping with both of mine but we couldn’t in the end.
    Enjoy your baby shower, your nails look really pretty xx

    Like

  5. I hadn’t heard of the cord clamp thing the first time round but did it the second time round – it seemed so much more natural and good for the baby! I also had a water birth – if you’re having baby at Royal Surrey check out the birth pool – I loved that room! And take some CDs with you – I gave birth listening to my Seal Soul CD and it was perfect! X

    Like

    • I had a tour there the other day as that’s where I’ll have him! I love the idea of a water birth but a bit too scared of the pain first time round! We had a tour and saw the two pool rooms – more of a bath than a pool but I still thought they looked fab!! x

      Like

      • Aw I was the same and ended up on my back on a syntocin drip with an epidural first time round. All I will say is that the more chilled the atmosphere(as in the ‘pool’ room) the calmer the experience and water worked really well for me as pain relief. Maybe ask to try the water at 5cm dilated to see how it feels and if you don’t like it you can always get out and they’ll give you other pain relief. X

        Like

      • Fab advice thank you. If I have time I’m planning to try the water for as long as I can and see how I feel. If it’s feels like I’m already being torn apart then epidural will be screamed for! 😉 xx

        Like

  6. I never had a baby shower, but I think it is a lovely idea. I was pregnant last summer though, and I remember at one point I couldn’t bear to leave the house, as everywhere else it was just too hot – I feel your pain! #binkylinky

    Like

  7. Love your nails 🙂 I feel for you with the being hot thing. I was pregnant over winter and felt like I was in a sauna most days, I’m not sure I’d have coped during the summer! x

    Like

  8. We included delayed cord clamping on our birth plan. I think eventually it’s going to become standard practice and the health benefits are so important.
    I hope you have a good baby shower and find a way to cool down in this heat. I was lucky that Potato was born in May so I was heavily pregnant through the cooler seasons.
    Thanks for linking up with #BinkyLinky

    Like

Comment:

