Dylon machine dye review

At 32 weeks pregnant I’m starting to nest. As I was folding away clothes in the nursery this week, I noticed we have so many plain white baby bits and white just doesn’t do it for me when it comes to boring things like muslins and vests. I had a look on You Tube to see how easy it would be to dye them myself and it turns out, very!

I love dark colours, especially as we’re having a boy so off I went to Amazon and purchased Dylon machine dyes in Antique Grey and Navy Blue. I couldn’t wait to get colouring!

dylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye

Once they arrived, I took the instructions out of one of the boxes and read very carefully – I didn’t want to mess this up! I needed rubber gloves and salt – lots of salt.

dylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye

Luckily we already had a huge 1kg box from the cash and carry, so I weighed out 500g in a bowl and looked at the next step to continue.

 

  • Wash the items you plan to dye thoroughly – even if brand new to remove any residue (I did a 40 degree machine wash)dylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dyedylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye
  • Remove items from machine after washing and pour the packet of dye directly into the drum (not the detergent drawer)dylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye
  • Pour 500g salt into the drum, covering dye powderdylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye
  • Put damp, prewashed items in drum, unfoldeddylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye
  • Run a full 40 degree cotton cycle – NOT a short cycle, half load or pre rinse etc and watch the dye get to workdylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye
  • When that cycle has finished, leave clothes in machine, add detergent and run another full 40 degree cycle to remove excess dye
  • Remove items and put out to dry
  • Add more detergent to the empty machine and run another 40 degree cycle to fully clean your machinedylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye
  • Wait until dry and admire your items!dylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dyedylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dyedylon, diy, machine dye, muslins, dye your own muslins, dye baby clothes, washing machine, bosch, rubber gloves, navy blue dye, grey dye

Once I’d repeated these steps with both colours and saw just how easy it was, I have since ordered Intense Violet and Velvet Black (I love babies in black). I can’t wait to try them and see the result – I’m especially looking forward to bright violet muslins!!

These machine dyes really couldn’t be simpler and you don’t need to get your hands dirty whatsoever. The dye comes in a powder and the gloves are a precaution, I got no marks on them whatsoever. One day very soon I’m going to get a hand dye and see what fun I can have with that….I’m thinking of experimenting and trying my hand at tie dye!

IF YOU CAN’T SEE WHERE TO REPLY BELOW, CLICK ON THE HEART AT THE TOP OF THE POST TO LEAVE YOUR COMMENT AND READ OTHER COMMENTS. THANK YOU!

**I was not approached or paid by Dylon for this review. I purchased this product personally and chose to review it myself**

Family Fever

11 thoughts on “Dylon machine dye review

  1. Oh wow, these look so good and look easier than I imagined it would be! I wish I’d thought to do that what a brilliant idea. You are going to have one cool little baby in these, xx

    Like

  2. Pingback: Love the little things Week 3 #littleloves | First Time Mummy

Comment:

