Oh. Hello 3rd trimester!

Today is a day I never, ever thought I’d see and it feels so weird!
After all the years of trying for a baby and the endless IVF cycles, I’m slowly getting my head around each exciting stage as it comes along. First the positive pregnancy test, midwife appointments (me, having a midwife!) 12 week scan, 20 week and gender scans, 2nd trimester and now the 3rd. I’m so fortunate to be here and still can’t quite believe it!
Today I am 27 weeks pregnant. There’s debate over when the 3rd trimester starts, but I’ve always gone by the English and very popular pregnancy app that I use, and today when I opened it, it said I had reached the 3rd! Eek!
Of course, this now comes with automatically panicking and planning for the final hurdle. All of a sudden I feel I should be getting my hospital bag sorted, planning who will look after the dogs when I go to hospital, bringing the baby home – oh my gosh, I’m actually going to bring a baby home…!
Processed with VSCOcam
Right from the beginning we were so over excited after how long it took us to get pregnant, that we had our nursery more or less finished by the time I was 18 weeks! To be fair, we already had a wardrobe from when it was the guest room and were given a cot and glider chair by a friend etc, so all that was left to do was choose colour/theme, get painting and organise the mountains of clothes we had bought/been given.
As it is pretty much completed, I plan to add a little sub heading tomorrow under the ‘Pregnancy’ tab and do a little post of our nursery so far, so look out for that!
As I have a low lying placenta, I need to go for another scan at 32 weeks to check if it has moved. If it has then I am able to go for a natural birth (which I’m desperate to have if I can), but if it hasn’t moved I will need to have a planned C-section. I don’t mind the scars, pain etc but am petrified of being awake in theatre. I have a horrific phobia of theatres/operations/anaesthetic and can’t even imagine my phobia allowing me to actually be awake during an operation so I’m really, really hoping by the scan the placenta has moved. If not, a C-section will be planned for around 11 weeks from now. 11 weeks. ELEVEN WEEKS. I’ll be having a baby in 11 weeks….O…M…G!!!
TO LEAVE A REPLY AND SEE PREVIOUS COMMENTS CLICK THE HEART AT THE TOP OF THE POST. THANK YOU!
Comment:

